Barasoain Church is a historical church in Malolos City, Bulacan. Built in 1630, it is known for its historical significance in the country.
Barasoain is derived from the “baras ng suwail” which means “dungeon of the deviant”. It was the meeting place for revolutionists who were working against the Spanish colonial government in the late 1800s. Their work paved the way for the Philippine Revolution.
The original church was destroyed in a fire in 1884. However, it was rebuilt the following year. Its facade features a Baroque architectural style.
The church is the site of the inauguration of the First Philippine Republic which took place in January 1899. Aside from being the temporary sanctuary of Emilio Aguinaldo, who became the first Philippine president, the church was where the First Philippine Congress convened in 1898. Their most significant contribution was the passing of the Malolos Constitution.
Its official name is Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish. It was the landmark featured on the 10 peso bill. However, the bill has been replaced with a coin.
Beside the church is the Barasoain Museum which is open from Tuesdays to Sundays from 8:00 – 16:00. A seven-minute light-and-sound show presents facts about the Malolos Congress.
Across the church is a statue of Emilio Aguinaldo. Today, the church is still an active parish where mass is held. It is also a popular choice for wedding venues.
Take an FX (multi-passenger cab) or bus to Malolos, Bulacan. There are many FX or buses from Recto, Manila, North Avenue and Cubao. Travel is 45-60 minutes. Alight at Malolos Crossing and take a 5-minute ride on a jeepney or a tricycle to the church.