National Museum in Belgrade was founded in 1844, and it is the oldest museum in Serbia. Till 1929 the collections of this Museum were often moved from one building to another and then were definitively placed in the building where they are now.
On the eve of the World War II, the Museum was separated from the Library and became an independent institution. During an air-raid on April 6, 1941, the collections of the Museum were heavily damaged. On that occasion a collection of 270 paintings were burnt. In addition, the occupying forces took with them many valuable exhibits.
Today, the museum of the city Belgrade has 9 departments – Museums which are located in the different locations of the city. Those museums are: Museum of Paja Jovanovic (painter), Museum of town Zemun, Museum of Banjica concentration camp, Museum of Ivo Andric (writer, Nobel prize winner), Residence of Princess Ljubica, Archaeological site Vinca, Museum of Toma Rosandic (sculptor), Museum of Jovan Cvijic (geographer) and Collection of icons Sekulic.