On the place of former Great Market, a large palace was constructed in 1863 in Venetian style with light-coloured facade and red ornaments around the windows and doors. The building was constructed by Misa Anastasijevic, called Captain Misa, a Belgrade merchant who later donated it to the state. The building was called Captain’s Misa Building. It has golden-lettered inscription: “Misa Anastasijevic to his Fatherland”.
This building was first occupied by the high school, and then, after it moved out, by some offices, like the Ministry of Education, National library, museum and gymnasium. In the ceremonial hall of this building two sessions of the National Assembly, in 1864 and 1874 were held.
For more than a hundred years, this building was outstanding in Belgrade for its architectural value, and also for its particular importance as a nursery of education and culture for numerous generation. The architecture of the Captain’s Misa building , neither fully Romanesque nor classical, reminds on one of Lombardian works of Renaissance masters. The architect was Ian Nevole, a Czech, who since 1845 was the main engineer in Serbia and one of the prominent builders of Belgrade.
On the facade there is a mixture of various features in the decoration. It must be supposed that the ornaments in terra cotta were not made in Belgrade, but in Vienna, Budapest or maybe in Trieste, with which Serbia at that time maintained permanent connections.
Captain Misa’s building is a seat of the Rectorate of the Belgrade University.