Church of the Visitation, was built according to Christian tradition, over the house of Zechariah, where Mary, Yeshua’s mother came to visit her cousin Elisheva, (Elizabeth) (Luke 1:39-80). The church is located on the other side of the village to the southwest from St. John’s Church. The ancient grotto there was built against a rock. It is worshiped as, the “rock cavity in which John was hidden from the Roman soldiers,” The site is also attributed to Zechariah and Elisheva’s summer house, where Mary visited them. The modern church was built in 1955, on top of the ruins of former Byzantine and Crusader churches. It was designed by Antonio Barluzzi, an Italian architect, who designed many other churches in the Holy Land during the 20th century.
By bus, taxi or private tour.