Dominus Flevit: Walking down towards Temple Mt., we will visit the holy places of worship on the Mountain and descend down the “Palm Sunday Road” visiting the Chapel of Dominus Flevit known as “The Lord Wept”, a Franciscan church built in 1953-1955 by the Italian architect Antonio Barluzzi on top of the remains of a 5th C building. During the excavations on the site, remains of a necropolis was discovered nearby containing inscriptions in Greek, Hebrew and Aramaic. The window over the altar offers a fantastic panoramic of Jerusalem. The church is one of the 2 churches in the Holy Land that faces westward, this one faces Temple Mt. and the second is St. Peter’s Church in Jaffa which faces Rome.
The name of the church is taken from the Gospel account of Yeshua weeping before the city unaware of its fate. “… And they shall not leave in thee one stone upon another; because thou knowest not the time of thy visitation” (Luke, 19 41-44).