Emmaus (Abu Gosh or Kiryat Ye’arim): is a small town 10 km. west of Jerusalem from where the Ark of the Covenant was brought to Jerusalem by King David.
During the Roman occupation, the 10th Legion, Legio X Fretensis, of the Roman army was stationed at Emmaus. The Legion’s emblem marks one of the walls of the crusader church.
The Hospitallers, who called the village Fontenoid in The Kingdom of Jerusalem, thought that this was the site of Emmaus mentioned in the Gospel of Luke 24:13. They built a Gothic-style church here in 1140 over a spring which it is still intact today. The church was acquired by the French government in 1899 and placed under guardianship of the French Benedictine Fathers. From 1956, the church is managed by the Lazarist Fathers.
By bus, taxi or guided tour.