The Gallery and Crypt are the only pieces remaining of the Church St. Barbara that once stood on the Mestni Trg Square. The Church of St. Barbara was built on demand of the miners, who wanted to have a church dedicated to their patron Saint Barbara. However, it was demolished in 1951.
Crypt is the only remaining part of the church and it was reopened for visitors in 2007. An Art gallery was added to the first part of the crypt.
The entrance to the crypt is possible from the Mestni trg Square.