According to a legend the monastery was built several years before the Battle of Marica in 1371, during the reign of the Mrnjavcevics, in which both brothers – Ugljesa and Vukasin were killed.
The present-day monastery was built in the early 19th century. The monastery houses the relicts of St. John of Stjenik. Beside the monastery there is a Sanctum, the spring of hot water that is believed to have curative powers.
The church is dedicated to the birth of St. John the Baptist and it is very modest in size.
The monastery is situated on the slopes of Jelica mountain, in the vicinity of town Cacak.
By Ibar Highway Belgrade-Cacak-Kraljevo, exit Cacak and by road to Banjica