The National Museum in Smederevska Palanka was founded in March 1966. It includes four collections of art history, four collections of archeology, one of ethnography, history, restoration, documentation and a library.
The permanent exhibitions held here are: Serbian Painting 1900 – 19500 and Neolithic Settlements in the Valley of Jesenice.
Over the time, the building has undergone several changes, mostly during the periods between 1917-1918 and 1969-197o. Today, the building’s ground floor, first floor and attic were converted into a loft and the building itself is characterized by its cubic form.