Nikola Tesla Museum was established in 1952 and opened to the public in 1955. The museum personal belongings of famous scientists, collection of photos, the original documents of Tesla’s correspondence with his cousins, renowned scientists, and companies. There are also kept the original Tesla’s works, patents and patent documentation, plans and drawings.
The Nikola Tesla Museum holds about a 1000 items, classified in nine collections – four collections of technical nature, two collections of personal Tesla’s belongings, and three artistic collections. The permanent exhibition on the ground floor and is divided into two parts. The first part introduces the biography of Nikola Tesla, while the second part presents his scientific work with the major inventions. The urn containing the ashes of Nikola Tesla is kept in the museum.
The museum library contains 786 books, 323 journal titles, collection with about 50,000 newspaper clippings, large collection of monographs portraying the life and work of Nikola Tesla.
The museum building is constructed between 1927 and 1929 as a residential house and it was declared a cultural monument in 1987.