Smederevo Fortress is a fortified city and temporary capital of medieval Serbia. It was built between 1427 and 1430 for housing a court of despot Djuradj Brankovic.
The fortress is in the shape of an irregular triangle with 25 towers over 20m high and 10 m high battlements, 4 m thick. Smederevo fortress is located on the confluence of the Jezava and Danube river. The fortress consists of the small town (the court) and the great town.
It was designed to resemble the fort of Constantinople, and chief architect was Byzantine noble, George Kantakuzen, brother of despot’s wife Jerina.
During its long and turbulent history fortress was destroyed and rebuilt several times.
Smederevo was a capital of Serbia from 1427 to 1459. In 1459 the Turkish army conquered fortress and this event represents the fall of medieval Serbian state.
Today, fortress is the main attraction of town Smederevo. It is also used as a scene for a various cultural events.
Smederevo Fortress was declared as a cultural monument of great importance in 1979.
Highway Belgrade-Nis, exit Smederevo