St. Michael’s Cathedral is dedicated to the Holy Archangel Michael. It was built between 1837 and 184., on the spot where the church from 1728 used to stand. There was a church on the same spot since the sixteenth century, dedicated to the same patron saint – Archangel Michael and it was the only church in the Serbian part of Belgrade during the period of Turkish supremacy.
The church was designed by Franz Janke and modeled like the Serbian church in Sremski Karlovci, in the style of classicism with some baroque elements.
The interior decoration was completed in 1845, when the church was consecrated. Mosaics with the representation of the patron saint were placed above the west portal. It had an important role in many historic events. In the nineteenth century all Serbian rulers were anointed there before their coronations, and some of them were crowned in the church. In front of the main entrance, there are tombs of Dositej Obradović and Vuk Karadžić, two very important Serbian educators, while the tombs of Princes Miloš and Mihailo Obrenović and of some high clergy are along the walls of the nave.