The Town Hall is the largest and probably the most beautiful building in town of Subotica. It was built in two years, from 1908 to 1912, by the project of Hungarian architects Marcell Komor and Dezső Jakab, in a Hungarian art nouveau style.
The decorative features of Art Nouveau are enriched with a romantic nuance of the Hungarian folklore, by floral elements made of ceramics and wrought ironwork forging. The Council Hall and its splendid stained glass windows are the heart of the building. Building’s 45 m high observatory provides an unforgettable sight of Subotica and its outskirts.
In the ground floor are shops and cafés; on the upper floors are mayor’s office, administrative offices, police and remand facilities.
Highway Belgrade-Novi Sad-Horgos, exit Subotica