Fortress Nehaj was used as a military fortress to defend city of Senj and for preparing attacks on the Turks and Venetians. The fortress was built on the hill Nehaj in 1558, under the guidance of captain and general of the Croatian Military Border Ivana Lenkovic and captain Herbert VIII Auersperg.
Fortress is rectangular in shape, and is oriented toward the cardinal points. It is 18 meters high and 23 meters wide. The exterior walls are built of hewn stone blocks, and thick as 2 to 3.3 meters. In addition, the fort has a ground floor with a courtyard and a cistern, the ground floor fireplace and crew facilities and weapons. A crew of 100 soldiers was enough to deny the attackers and to provide the appropriate assistance to city.
Highway Zagreb- Split, exit Zuta Lokva and by road to Senj