Grgeteg Monastery is located on the southern slope of the Fruska Gora mountain, near the village Grgeteg. The monastery church is dedicated to St. Nicholas. According to a legend, it was founded by despot Zmaj Ognjeni Vuk in 1471. The first reliable data about monastery comes from the Turkish records from 1546. In the late 17th century, the monastery was abandoned but in 1708 it was rebuilt by monk Isaiah Djakovic.
Around 1770, the old stone church was replaced by the new baroque building. Another reconstruction was in 1901 after the project of Herman Bolle. The first iconostasis was painted by Jakov Orfelin in 1774, but it was destroyed. Today’s iconostasis is painted in 1902 by Uros Predic, one of the greatest Serbian painters.