Topcider is the favorite excursion spot of the citizens of Belgrade. Its development dates from the beginning of the 19th century, thanks to the Prince Milos Obrenovic, who built his residence here in order to be close to Belgrade and still not within reach of the Turkish guns. The Residence was finished in 1834 and Prince Milos stayed here temporarily, and from 1859 he lived here permanently, until his death in 1860. At the entrance to the Residence there is Platanus tree, over 110 years old.
Today, Prince Milos’ Residence is one of the most valuable park attractions, turned into the Museum of the First Serbian Uprising. In the vicinity of the Residence is a church – known as Topcider church, which served as a court chapel, constructed at the same time as the Residence. The park covers an area of 111,336 m², in the valley of the Topcider River.