Velika Remeta monastery is located on the slopes of Fruška Gora mountains, north-west of the village of the same name. It is dedicated to Saint Demetrius. Besides the church, the monastery complex also comprises two chapels – Saint John the Baptist and Assumption of the Holy Mother of God. According to a legend, the monastery was founded by Serbian King Dragutin in the first half of the 14th century. This legend is not reliable, but it is certain that the monastery is very old and was built as early as the 15th century. The church is single-naved, with the façade that is altered to reflect a Baroque style in the period between 1733 and 1753. Just a few frescos have been preserved – on the northern wall is a fresco of the Mother of God seated on a throne with a Christ-child in her arms, while on the south wall are two holy warriors. After suffering devastation on many occasions, the monastery was restored in the 1980s and today is in a very good condition.