Vianden Castle is located in Vianden, Luxembourg and dates back to the 10th century. Originally built in a Romanesque style, Gothic details were added later on and it stands on a rocky promontory, guarding the town of Viaden and River Our.
The castle was built on the site where a Roman castellum once stood and served as the seat of the town’s counts until the 15th century. During the 16th century, the castle was partially abandoned and it was sold in the 19th century for about 3,000 florins and its demolition began and it was left in ruins.
In 1827, by order of the King, restoration on the castle began. Due to many wars and revolutions, including the first and second World Wars, the castle was not completely restored until 1990. Since then, it has served as a museum that can be visited year-round.